EIC ACCELERATOR

The EIC Accelerator aims to make Europe a leader in innovation and entrepreneurship.

The EIC Accelerator is the European Innovation Council‘s (EIC) flagship programme for SMEs. Launched in September 2019 by the European Commission as a pilot in the perspective of Horizon Europe, it replaces the SME Instrument (phase 1 and phase 2) introduced under Horizon 2020.

The EIC aims to boost Europe’s economic growth by bringing visionary ideas to market. To meet this objective, the EIC offers a range of complementary funding through the “EIC Pathfinder” (Novel ideas for radically new technologies), “EIC Transition Activities” (transformation of research results into innovation) and “EIC Accelerator” (deployment of innovation to market) programmes.

The EIC Accelerator is a funding instrument for SMEs and start-ups that develop breakthrough innovation projects with high growth potential. The projects must be high-risk and contribute to a radical transformation of the market. Winners receive funding and support in the form of mixed funding, which can amount to up to €2.5m in grants and €15m in equity investment.
The EIC Accelerator remains the largest and most competitive public funding programme in Europe.

Applicant companies will have to demonstrate the degree of innovation of their product, process or service and have developed an ambitious marketing strategy, with high internationalization and growth potential.

Under Horizon Europe, the EIC is expected to benefit from a total budget of around €10 billion over 7 years, with a large majority of the funds allocated to the EIC Accelerator programme.

Main novelties 2021-2027 Horizon Europe:
The European Commission has proposed several changes and improvements, which should take effect from the launch of Horizon Europe:

  • Towards “bottom-up” and “top-down” calls for projects: while the EIC Accelerator will continue to fund the deployment of innovative products or services developed by SMEs in all sectors (EIC Accelerator Open), the EIC wishes to strengthen its support for priority topics for the future of Europe. Thus, calls for “EIC Accelerator Challenges” projects will also be published to fund breakthrough innovations, particularly in the fields of digital, health and the EU Green Deal.
  • Limiting the number of resubmissions and improving support for SMEs: In order to limit the number of project resubmissions – considered too high under H2020 – the EIC wishes to set up a 12-month latency period following the submission of 2 consecutive proposals to the EIC Accelerator.
  • A new 4-step project selection process: The main change should concern the simplification of the evaluation system, with the disappearance of scores by section but the introduction of a selection process with a “go/no go” approach.
EIC Accelerator
For privacy reasons YouTube needs your permission to be loaded.
I Accept

Description:
The SME can set up demonstration, test, prototyping, miniaturization, scale-up of production, industrialization, development of commercial applications, etc. activities in order to arrive at a product / service / process at the end of the project; Almost ready to go on the market. The 30-page proposal to be submitted includes the following 3 parts: Excellence, Impact, and Implementation.

Project duration: 12 to 24 months
Financing:
– Subsidy from €0.5M to €2.5M for projects with activities from TRL 6 to TRL 8
– Mixed funding if the project includes activities very close to the market beyond TRL8, i.e. the subsidy up to TRL 8 and an equity stake by the European Commission (between €0.5M and €15M maximum ) beyond TRL 8.
Applicants must indicate whether they wish mixed funding and the desired amount for equity funding and justify this choice taking into account the maturity of the project and activities.

Evaluation: made by 4 expert evaluators and the best files are invited to come and present their project at the Commission in Brussels for the final selection (10 minutes of pitch and 20 minutes of questions / answers – the presentation of the pitch is to be sent at the same time the filing of the written proposal).

Evaluation time: maximum 4 months including signature of the funding agreement, maximum 6 months after the submission of the application.
Rating: the 3 parts of the file (Excellence, Impact and Implementation) each account for 1/3 of the overall score.

Next application dates: 5 pages application (+pitch-deck + 3-mn video presentation): April 2021

Full application: 9 June and 6 October 2021

More information on the European Commission website dedicated to EIC

We are Expert & Evaluator for the European Commission since 2001. We put our experience of past evaluations to the service of setting up your project and your proposal to help you build a winning proposal.

Contact us to discuss your project.

Commis

SEAL OF EXCELLENCE FOR OUR CLIENTS

SME Instrument
EIC Accelerator
EIC Accelerator

Do you have a project?
Contact-us

=

EIC ACCELERATOR

L’EIC Accelerator a pour objectif de faire de l’Europe un leader de l’innovation et de l’entrepreneuriat.

L’Accélérateur EIC est le programme phare du Conseil Européen de l’Innovation (EIC) à destination des PME. Lancé par la Commission européenne en septembre 2019 dans sa phase pilote en prévision d’Horizon Europe, il vient remplacer l’instrument PME (phase 1 et phase 2) introduit sous Horizon 2020.

l’EIC a pour but de stimuler la croissance économique de l’Europe, en permettant à des idées visionnaires et de rupture d’accéder au marché. Pour répondre à cet objectif, l’EIC propose un ensemble de financements complémentaires avec “EIC Pathfinder” (exploration d’idées radicalement nouvelles), “EIC Transition activities” (transformation des résultats de la recherche en innovation) et “EIC Accelerator” (déploiement de l’innovation sur le marché).

L’EIC Accelerator est à destination exclusive des PME porteuses de concepts novateurs susceptibles de façonner de nouveaux marchés en Europe et dans le monde. L’EIC donne la priorité aux projets individuels permettant à l’entreprise d’accélérer la mise sur le marché de son innovation, de changer d’échelle et de dimension. La subvention peut atteindre jusqu’à 2,5M€ et peut se cumuler avec une prise de participation (fonds d’investissement spécialisés) plafonnée à 15M€ dans le cadre de projets de développement plus avancé.
Les entreprises candidates devront démontrer le degré d’innovation de leur produit, le processus ou service et avoir élaboré une stratégie de commercialisation ambitieuse, avec un potentiel d’internationalisation et de croissance élevé.

L’Accélérateur EIC reste le programme de financement public le plus important et le plus compétitif en Europe.

Sous Horizon Europe, l’EIC devrait bénéficier d’un budget total d’environ 10 milliards d’euros sur 7 ans, une grande majorité des fonds devraient être alloués à l’EIC Accelerator.

Nouveautés 2021-2027 Horizon Europe :

La Commission européenne propose plusieurs changements et améliorations, qui devraient prendre effet dès le lancement de Horizon Europe :

  • Appels à projets « bottom-up » et « top-down » : l’EIC Accelerator continuera à financer le déploiement de produits ou services innovants dans tous les secteurs (EIC Accelerator Open). L’EIC lancera également d’autres appels à projets tels que “EIC Accelerator Challenges” pour financer des innovations de rupture (domaines digital, Green Deal ou santé).
  • Limiter le nombre de resoumissions et améliorer l’accompagnement : pour limiter le nombre de resoumissions de projets trop important sous H2020, l’EIC mettra en place une période de latence de 12 mois suite au dépôt de 2 candidatures consécutives auprès de l’EIC Accélérateur.
  • Nouveau processus de sélection des projets en 4 étapes : simplification du système de notation, disparition des notes par sections et notées sur 15, mise en place d’un process de sélection avec approche « go / no go »
EIC Accelerator

Description :
La PME peut mettre en place des activités de démonstration, test, prototypage, miniaturisation, scale-up de production, industrialisation, développement d’applications commerciales, … afin d’arriver, à la fin du projet, à un produit/service/procédé quasiment prêt pour la mise sur le marché. Le dossier à déposer de 30 pages comprend les 3 parties suivantes : Excellence, Impact, et Implémentation.

Durée du projet : 12 à 24 mois
Financement :
– Subvention de 0,5 M€ à 2,5 M€ pour des projets avec des activités de TRL 6 à TRL 8
– Financement mixte si le projet comprend des activités très proche marché au-delà de TRL8, soit la subvention jusqu’à TRL 8 et une prise de participation au capital par la Commission européenne (entre 0,5 M et 15 M d’€ maximum) au-delà de TRL 8.
Les candidats doivent indiquer s’ils souhaitent un financement mixte et le montant souhaité pour la participation au capital et justifier ce choix en tenant compte de la maturité du projet et des activités.

Evaluation : faite par des experts évaluateurs et les meilleurs dossiers sont invités à venir présenter leur projet devant une commission à Bruxelles pour la sélection finale (10 minutes de pitch et 20 minutes de questions/réponses – la présentation du pitch est à envoyer en même temps que le dépôt du dossier écrit)

Prochaines dates de candidatures : dépôt des projets (5 pages présentation + pitch-deck + video 3-mn) : avril 2021.
Candidature complète :
9 juin & 6 octobre 2021. 

Plus d’informations sur le site de la Commission Européenne dédié à l’EIC

Nous sommes Expert & Évaluateur pour la Commission Européenne depuis 2001. Notre mettons notre expérience des évaluations passées au service du montage de votre projet et de votre dossier pour vous aider à construire une proposition gagnante.

Nous sommes Expert Conseil EIC Accelerator référencé par BPIFrance pour faciliter votre accès aux financement BPI pour monter votre projet (prise en charge de 50% du coût de montage du projet dans une limite de 20K€).
Contactez-nous pour discuter de votre projet.

Commission EuropéenneBPIFrance

SEAL OF EXCELLENCE POUR NOS CLIENTS

EIC Accelerator
SME Instrument
EIC Accelerator

Vous avez un projet ?

Contactez-nous

=